Tampa Federal Criminal Defense Lawyer

Protecting The Rights Of The Accused After A DUI Arrest

Driving under the influence (DUI) is punishable under Section 316.193, Florida statutes. The penalties for conviction of DUI with a blood alcohol content between .08 and .14 percent are as follows.

First DUI conviction:

  • A fine between $250 and $500
  • Jail time up to six months
  • License revocation between 180 days and one year

Second DUI conviction within five years:

  • A fine between $500 and $1,000
  • Jail time up to nine months
  • License revocation of at least five years
  • Ignition interlock device for at least one year

Third DUI conviction within 10 years:

  • A fine between $1,000 and $1,500
  • Mandatory jail sentence of at least 30 days
  • Possible maximum sentence of five years in prison
  • A minimum 10-year license revocation
  • Ignition interlock device for at least two years
  • May be charged as a felony

Tampa Bay Times | tampabay.com“The ruling came down just the other day. The appeals court reversed Tina Esler’s conviction,” wrote Columnist Howard Troxler, describing how attorney Mark J. O’Brien’s appellate brief convinced the Second District Court of Appeal to overturn his client’s jury conviction and corresponding five year prison sentence for DUI resulting in serious bodily injury.
– Tampa Bay Times

Representation Is Essential

You do not have to plead guilty to a DUI charge. A guilty plea is the same as a conviction. Because a DUI conviction is not expungeable, it will remain on your record for life. Instead, you can fight the charge with the help of a defense attorney. Mark J. O’Brien, can defend you against all DUI charges.

Our Tampa DUI lawyers and Tampa DWI attorneys can also represent you at the administrative hearing with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV). You have only 10 days from the arrest to request this hearing to protect your driving privileges.

In addition to the penalties for conviction, you may pay higher rates for auto insurance or lose your coverage. Contesting the charges by retaining our firm now may save you money over the long term.

We have achieved many dismissals and reductions of charges in DUI and driving cases. This includes protecting the rights of clients who have been charged with “DUI: Second Within Five Years,” getting charges amended to reckless driving, resulting in no jail time, license revocation or probation.

Florida Drunk Driving Charge Lawyers

O’Brien Hatfield, P.A. helps people throughout Florida defend themselves from DUI charges. For a free initial consultation, please call 813-440-2347 or contact us online.